Logo-banner

Members

Carol Robinson
IMBER SSC (Chair, 2016- )
E-mail: Carol.Robinson@uea.ac.uk
Web page: Website

National contact, IMBER SSC (2007-2013)

University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK

Microbial biogeochemistry
Alida Bundy
IMBER SSC (Vice-chair, 2013- )
E-mail: alida.bundy@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Web page: Website

HDWG (Chair)

Bedford Institute of Oceanography,
Dartmouth, Canada

Marine ecosystem functioning, fisheries exploitation
Eugene Murphy
IMBER SSC (Vice-Chair 2016- )
E-mail: e.murphy@bas.ac.uk
Web page: Link

ICED (Chair), National contact

British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, UK

Biological oceanography, Southern Ocean food web modelling, ecosystems dynamics, biogeochemical cycles
Cisco Werner
IMBER SSC (Vice-Chair 2016- )
E-mail: cisco.werner@noaa.gov
Web page: Link

Southwest Fisheries Science Center, NOAA,
La Jolla, CA, USA

Physical-biological modelling, marine ecosystems, ocean circulation physics, ocean and coastal observing and forecasting systems
Laurent Bopp
IMBER SSC (2014- )
E-mail: laurent.bopp@lsce.ipsl.fr
Web page: Website

National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), Paris, France

Physical oceanography, climate-marine biogeochemistry interactions, marine ecology, computational modelling
Ratana Chuenpagdee
IMBER SSC (2012- )
E-mail: ratanac@mun.ca
Web page: Website

HDWG (2011 - 2016), TBTI (Chair)

Department of Geography, Memorial University,
St. John´s, Newfoundland, Canada

Interdisciplinary, governance, coastal sustainability and community resilience, ecosystem values, social organization
Dan Costa
IMBER SSC (2016- )
E-mail: costa@ucsc.edu
Web page: Link

CLIOTOP SSC

University of California, Santa Cruz, CA, USA

Ecology and physiology of marine mammals and seabirds
Mark Dickey-Collas
IMBER SSC (2017-)
E-mail: Mark.dickey-collas@ices.dk
Web page: Link

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) and Danish Technical University National Institute of Aquatic Resources (DTU-AQUA), Copenhagen, Denmark.

Population dynamics, ecosystem approach, science for policy, pelagic fish and fisheries.
Rubén Escribano
IMBER SSC (2015- )
E-mail: rescribano@udec.cl
Web page: Link

IMBER-CLIVAR Upwelling WG (Chair)

Department of Oceanography & Millennium Institute of Oceanography (IMO), University of Concepción, Concepción, Chile

Marine zooplankton ecology, marine pelagic food webs, population biology
Marion Glaser
IMBER SSC (2017-)
E-mail: marion.glaser@leibniz-zmt.de
Web page: Link

Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT)
Bremen, Germany

Multi-level social-ecological systems analysis, resilience and transformation, tropical coastal livelihoods, coastal and ocean governance and management, transdisciplinary research
Gerhard Herndl
IMBER SSC (2014- )
E-mail: gerhard.herndl@univie.ac.at
Web page: Website

Department of Marine Biology, University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Marine microbial ecology, microbial oceanography and biodiversity, marine biogeochemistry, dark ocean
Alistair Hobday
IMBER SSC (2017-)
E-mail: alistair.hobday@csiro.au

Past co-Chair of CLIOTOP

CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Climate variability and change, climate adaptation, fisheries management, ecological risk assessments, science-to-policy.
Masao Ishii
IMBER SSC (2015- )
E-mail: mishii@mri-jma.go.jp
Web page: Website

SOLAS-IMBER Carbon Interior Ocean WG

Oceanography and Geochemistry Research Department, Japan Meteorological Agency / Meteorological Research Institute, Tsukuba, Japan

Ocean carbon cycle, ocean acidification, natural and anthropogenic changes in ocean carbon and oxygen
Tatiana Rynearson
IMBER SSC (2013- )
E-mail: rynearson@gso.uri.edu
Web page: Link

Coastal Institute, Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island, Narragansett, RI, USA

Ecological and evolutionary processes, planktonic genetic diversity and community structure, function and productivity
Svein Sundby
IMBER SSC (2015- )
E-mail: sveins@imr.no
Web page: Website

Oceanography and Climate Research Group, Institute of Marine Research (IMR), Bergen, Norway

Physical-biological ocean processes, climate variability, climate change and impacts on marine ecosystems, plankton, fishery oceanography
Ingrid van Putten
IMBER SSC (2016- )
E-mail: Ingrid.Vanputten@csiro.au
Web page: Website

HDWG (2017-)

Commonwealth Scientific & Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and Centre for Marine Socioecology, Hobart, Australia

Modelling the interaction of social and economic behaviour with the biophysical environment
Ying Wu
IMBER SSC (2016- )
E-mail: wuying@sklec.ecnu.edu.cn
Web page: Website

State Key Laboratory of Estuarine and Coastal Research (SKLEC), East China Normal University (ECNU), Shanghai, China

Marine organic geochemistry

Terms of reference

Terms of Reference

IMBeR Scientific Steering Committee

Agreed by SCOR and Future Earth, 2017

  • To develop the IMBeR Science Plan and Implementation Strategy, in accordance with guidance from the sponsoring organisations SCOR and Future Earth.
  • To oversee the development and implementation of IMBeR in accordance with its Science Plan and Implementation Strategy.
  • To demonstrate progress and achievements of IMBeR through the definition and monitoring of results and outputs of existing regional (ICED, SIBER, CLIOTOP, ESSAS) and national programmes, working groups and task teams.
  • To encourage publication of IMBeR-related activities with appropriate acknowledgement of IMBeR, SCOR and Future Earth.
  • To provide input from IMBeR and its related activities to the international scientific and policy arena.
  • To engage the general public and marine stakeholders in IMBeR activities.
  • To actively seek funds for IMBeR-related activities from national, regional and international funding agencies.
  • To collaborate, as appropriate, with other projects sponsored by SCOR and Future Earth, and other related programmes and organisations such as ICES, PICES, WCRP, IOC-UNESCO and GOOS.
  • To establish appropriate data management policies to ensure access to, sharing of, and preservation of IMBeR-relevant data, taking into account the policies of the sponsors.
  • To facilitate capacity building and career development of early career scientists in topics of relevance to the IMBeR Science Plan and Implementation Strategy.
  • To report regularly to SCOR and Future Earth on the state of planning and the accomplishments of IMBeR.

The IMBeR SSC, its subsidiary task teams, working groups, regional programmes and International and Regional Project Offices (IPO, RPO) shall operate in accordance with the operating procedures for SCOR and Future Earth Global Research Projects.